2013 Dissertation Award winners announced

The Upjohn Institute announces the winners of its 2013 Dissertation Award program. They are:

  • Will Dobbie, Harvard University, for "Essays in Labor Economics," Roland Fryer Jr., Advisor.
  • Gergory Leiserson, MIT, for "Essays on the Economics of Public Sector Retirement Programs," James Poterba, Advisor.
Honorable mentions
  • Rebecca Diamond, Harvard University, for "Essays in Local Labor Economics," Lawrence Katz, Advisor.
  • Adam Isen, University of Pennsylvania, for "Essays on Labor and Public Economics," Alexander Gelber, Advisor.
The co-winners each receive a prize of $2,500. The honorable mentions each receive a $1,000 prize.

2014 deadline

The deadline for submission for the 2014 W.E. Upjohn Institute Dissertation Award is July 7, 2014. Any individual whose dissertation has been accepted during the 24-month period of July 1, 2012 to June 30, 2014, is eligible for the 2014 prize. More info is available here.